Is ginger beer gluten-free? It’s a common question for Moscow Mule fans. For cocktails lovers, enjoying our favorite drinks in the company of loved ones is one of life’s simple pleasures. Sharing food and drink with those that make you smile has been shown to raise serotonin in the body (happy chemicals). As long as we exercise in moderation, we know our health won’t suffer. However many have pre-existing health conditions that we need to monitor, including numerous:
Intolerance to gluten comes under different names: Celiac Disease, Leaky Gut Syndrome, Gluten Ataxia, and general Gluten Sensitivity or intolerance are just a few.
The most common of these is coeliac disease, which is an autoimmune condition that is caused by ingesting gluten. Gluten can be found in cereals such as wheat, oats, barley and rye. As a result, many people suffering from celiac disease follow a grain-free diet of vegetables and protein and do their best to avoid ingesting starchy carbohydrates.
The Rise of Gluten-Free
Gluten-free living has grown increasingly popular over the past decade and manufacturers of drinks and bars the where they are served have to keep up with the changing times.
Being intolerant to gluten should not curtail your enjoyment of social gatherings where food and drink are served. This article will give you some tips on enjoying Moscow Mules while staying gluten free. So…is ginger beer gluten-free?
The Devil Is in the Details
The good news is that brands such as Reed’s Ginger Beer are brewed directly from roots, fruits, herbs, and spices – which means they are 100% gluten free.
Shopping For Gluten-Free Ginger Beer
The simple answer to the question: “Is ginger beer gluten free” is that, “it depends on the brand.”
Once you find a brand of ginger beer that is gluten free, you can always ask the barman if they stock your favorite brand of ginger beer when you order a Moscow Mule at the bar next time.
Here a few brands of gluten-free ginger beer:
However, sometimes it’s not so simple. For example, Crabbie’s sold in the UK (where ginger beer comes from) is a gluten free, while Crabbie’s sold in the US is branded as a “malt beverage” which contains barley – not gluten free.
If you don’t want to read labels, most grocery stores these days will have a “gluten free” section in alcoholic drinks aisle. Easy way to solve the “is ginger beer gluten-free” dilema is to check these isle or look at the products listed here on Amazon.
The Case for Ginger Ale
Ginger ale, on the other hand, is universally gluten free. But as we stress on this site, a Moscow Mule is always mixed with Ginger Beer – not Ginger Ale.
Ginger beer is brewed and goes through a fermentation process while ginger ale is a carbonated beverage made from water and ginger. Ginger beer has much stronger ginger flavor and is less carbonated because it’s fermented.
Ginger ale is a softer drink that lacks the kick of ginger, making it a poor mixer for the Moscow Mule. Last but not least, ginger ale has higher sugar content.
Even fans of a similar cocktail that uses ginger beer, the Dark And Stormy, would never think of using ginger ale.
The Dose Matters
Many Moscow Mule fanatics have reported feeling fine even drinking ginger beer that contains gluten, provided they consume only one Moscow Mule. Remember, you can always make your Moscow Mule a little stronger you by adding less Ginger Beer than you usually would.
Is Ginger Beer Gluten-Free? – Extra Tips
If you are finding it hard to find gluten free ginger beer, you can always have a go at brewing your own, it’s as complicated as it sounds. Finally, don’t be so focused on the gluten content of the ginger beer that you forget about the other main ingredient of the Moscow Mule: vodka. Make sure you find a good gluten-free brand of vodka – check out other articles on this site.