Is A Moscow Mule Gluten-Free? We get this question every now and then. And while it surprised us at first, now we get it. The Moscow Mule is a popular drink, especially with the “In-Crowd” these days. So is living a gluten-free lifestyle. The two kind of go hand-in-hand.
Lots of people with high-flying careers eat and drink out a lot. They have a whirling social life, but they don’t always feel well. Gas, bloating, diarrhea, and constipation are just some of the symptoms of gluten intolerance. These Type-A personalities also go to the gym but they can’t seem to shift that holiday weight. So what is the problem?
People who convert to a gluten free lifestyle often experience weight loss, better skin, fewer headaches, unbounded energy, and a host of other benefits. Now, let’s get back to everyone favorite topic – Moscow Mules.
P.S: This is not medical advice. We are not doctors.
Moscow Mule Compatible With a Gluten-Free Lifestyle?
You’ll be glad to know that the Moscow Mule is classified as a gluten-free alcoholic beverage. Just make sure you use this list to pick your vodka properly.
Remember, the fundamental ingredients are:
- Ginger Beer
- Lime Juice
And, to jog your memory, here’s how you prepare the classic:
- Fill a highball glass or Copper Mug with ice
- Add the Vodka and Lime Juice
- Top with Ginger Beer
- Garnish with a slice of Lime
Of course, we are only talking about the original Moscow Mule recipe here. Some other Moscow Mule varieties might not be gluten free. The more you stray from the original recipe, the greater the likelihood that your cocktail is now not gluten free. For example, substituting Gin for the Vodka can be tricky for those who are trying to avoid gluten. This is because, out of the 3 main ingredients for a Moscow Mule, the only one you have to keep an eye on (if you are gluten-free) is the Vodka or Gin.
Is a Moscow Mule Gluten-Free?
Whether the Vodka or Gin contains gluten is dependent on ingredients and the distillation process. Other alcoholic beverages that are distilled and thus gluten-free include: vodka, gin, whiskey, bourbon, rum, brandy, and tequila. Although many of these contain gluten when sourced, the distilling process removes the gluten and thus there is none present in the end product.
To be on the safe side, use a Vodka that has been distilled from corn and is certified Gluten-Free and you’ll be fine. Two good brands are Krome and Smirnoff. The good news is that, as gluten free diets increase in popularity and awareness grows, companies will be more vigilant about labeling their products “Gluten Free”.
If you do suffer from diseases such as Celiac or are trying to eliminate gluten from your diet, enjoy a Moscow Mule gluten-free and worry-free. Just be vigilant about what type of vodka you add to the mix.